Chapter A

Introduction

IEEE MTT-S International Microwave Symposium

Guidelines and Procedures Manual

 

Prepared by Edward C. Niehenke

June 2003, Updated January 2004, January 2005, January 2006, January 201, January 2011, January 2013, January 2014, and January 2015

Table of Contents

  1. Introduction
  2. Meetings and Symposia Committee Consultant Staff

1. Introduction

††† This IEEE Microwave Theory and Techniques Society (MTT-S) International Microwave Symposium (IMS) Guidelines and Procedures Manual was developed for the purpose of establishing a concise set of guidelines, schedules, checklists, and procedures that can be used by incoming IMS Steering Committee members to effectively run their IMS Symposium and reduce the learning curve.

††† The first section contains information about the IMS, including past statistics so that the local IMS Steering Committee will have a good idea of the workings of the IMS.The rest of this document is divided into 53 sections representing major functions of the IMS Steering Committee. This document was prepared by a consultant staff whose IMS major function, name, company affiliation, telephone number, and e-mail number is found below.The member who was previously in charge of that function at a previous IMS wrote each section.This document was organized and compiled by Edward C. Niehenke.

†††† IEEE has helpful information on organizing a conference and information is found on http://www.ieee.org/conferences_events/conferences/organizers/index.html/.Detailed information is found here including the "IEEE Conference Organizersí Manual" and "How to organize an

IEEE Conference: Checklist & Timeline."

 

IEEE conference contacts are listed below:

Conference related business support and services:

Phone: +1 732 562 3878

E-mail: conference-services@ieee.org

 

For event management solutions, contact:

Meeting and conference management (MCM):

Phone: + 1 800 810 IEEE (4333); + 1 732 465 7810

E-mail: mcminfo@ieee.org

†††

2. Meetings and Symposium Committee Consultant Staff

 

IEEE MTT-S International Microwave Symposium Guidelines and Procedures Manual

Consultant Staff

Manual Organized and Edited by Edward C. Niehenke

410-796-5866

e.niehenke@ieee.org

* Preparer is from Original Manual and Updated

Chapter

Name

Preparer

A

Introduction

Edward Niehenke

e.niehenke@ieee.org

410-796-5866

B

The IMS

 

Edward Niehenke

e.niehenke@ieee.org

410-796-5866

C

General Chair

Fred Schindler

m.schindler@ieee.org

978-670-2230

D

Technical Program

Mark Gouker

gouker@ll.mit.edu

781-981-7862

Larry Kushner

kushner@ieee.org

781-994-4415

D1*

Workshops

Tom Ruttan

thomas.g.ruttan@intel.com

503-456-1245

D2

Short Courses

Robert Jackson

jackson@ecs.umass.edu

413 545 1386

D3

Virtual Participation

Charlotte Blair

cblair@awrcorp.com

D4

Panel and Rump Sessions

Phillip Smith

pmsmith@ieee.org

(603) 885-6785

D5*

Interactive Forum

Darren Ferwalt

503-615-9343

dferwalt@tqs.com

503-615-9343

D6*

Micro Apps

Lisa Critchlow

503-245-2220

lisa.critchlow@rogers-corp.com

D7

Focus and Special Sessions

 

Tim Hancock

hancockt@ll.mit.edu

781-981-4689

D8

Plenary Session

John Heaton

john.l.heaton@baesystems.com

603-885-1054

D9

Student Competitions

Jim Komiak

james.j.komiak@baesystems.com

603-885-6910

D10

RFIC Liaison

Larry Whicker

lrwassoc@carolina.rr.com

704 841-1915

D11

ARFTG Liaison

Brian Wadell

bcwadell@comcast.net

781-883-5388

D12

Signage

Charles Wang

zhaoyang.charles@gmail.com

E

Publications and Publicity

George Heiter

gheiter@worldnet.att.net

978-589-8076

E1

Logo and Branding

Roger Sudbury

Deceased

E2

Electronic Paper Management

George Heiter

gheiter@worldnet.att.net

978-589-8076

E3

Website

George Heiter

gheiter@worldnet.att.net

978-589-8076

E4

TPC Meeting

George Heiter

gheiter@worldnet.att.net

978-589-8076

E5

Microwave Magazine Special Issue Editor

Steve McKnight

mcknight@ece.neu.edu

E6

Call for Papers

Candice Brittan

Candice.Brittain@baesystems.com

E7

Proceedings CD

Don Sherwood

hopkinton1@aol.com

E8

Programs

Tom Perkins

toperk@aol.com

603-472-5150

E9

PDA Program

Tim Lee

leetim314@hotmail.com

310-662-9114

E10

Workshop Notes & CD

Candice Brittain

Candice.Brittain@baesystems.com

E11

Print on Demand

Francios Colomb

Francois_Y_Colomb@raytheon.com

E12

Signs

Charles Wang

zhaoyang.charles@gmail.com

E13

Photography

Paul Martyniuk

martyniuk.paul@gmail.com

E14

Marketing& Publicity

Carl Sheffres

CSheffres@mwjournal.com

E15

Publicity Items / Gifts

Mark Lewis

mark.lewis11@comcast.net

E16

IEEE Microwave Magazine Special Issue

George Heiter

gheiter@worldnet.att.net

978-589-8076

F

Operations

Luciano Boglione

l.boglione@ieee.org

617-661-8999

Updated 2014 by

Paul Ferguson

paul.ferguson@honeywell.com

 

F1

Treasurer

Bob Alongi

r.alongi@ieee.org

781-245-5405

F2

Registration

Joe Nizko

jnizko@ieee.org

978-858-4311

F3

Exhibition

Lee Wood

lee@mpassociates.com

303-530-4562

F4

University Booths

Luciano Boglione

l.boglione@ieee.org

617-661-8999

F5

Historical

Steven Stitzer

s.stitzer@ieee.org

410-465-9369

F6

International Liaison

Zaher Bardai

zb@ieee.org

F7

Protocol

Peter Staecker

p.staecker@ieee.org

781-861-7643

F8

Conferences services

Larry Whicker

lrwassoc@carolina.rr.com

704 841-1915

F9

Sharepoint

Tim Lee

leetim314@hotmail.com

310-662-9114

G*

Local Arrangements

Jim Freeman

253-657-4250

james.l.freeman@boeing.com

G1

Meeting Planner

Elsie Cabrera

e.cabrera@ieee.org

732-981 3428

G2

Destination Planner

Elsie Cabrera

e.cabrera@ieee.org

732-981 3428

G3

Banquet

Ray Waterman

raymond_waterman@raytheon.com

978.858.4163

G4

Women in Microwaves

Rashandra Henderson

rmhen@ieee.org

972-883-6454

G5

Transportation

Bob Alongi

r.alongi@ieee.org

781-245-5405

G6

Audio Video

Dogan Gunes

dogan.gunes@skyworksinc.com

(781) 376-3094

G7

Student Volunteers

Cleo Alexander

cleo_alexander@agilent.com

G8

Student Job Fair

Ray Pavio

rpavio@tqs.com

G9

Gold

Under Construction

G10*

Guest Program

Mike Florian and Dororthy Sparks

781-275 8179